A Brief Look at Square-Enix’s Decision to Re-Release Kingdom Hearts onto the PS4

Let me start out and say that I, the man writing this, will more than likely buy a copy of this re-re-release of the Kingdom Hearts series as updated for the PS4 I just bought not long ago. Not only have I been a fan of the series for as long as I can remember of the early 2000’s, but every iteration that has come out since has seen money fly out of my pocket and time out of my weeks spent on enjoying, or reviling as was the case with Re:Coded on the DS, the franchise and it’s various chapters.

That being said, I am without a doubt shocked that we, in between now and Kingdom Hearts 2.8, which in turn is between us and Kingdom Hearts 3, are seeing what many of us view as another cash grab by Square, reaping of what loyalty some of us have left as well as patience.

There are several problems here that I want to openly engage.

First, why is the company bothering with doing this now when we have, hopefully, so short a time before the next installment, by which I mean 2.8 which includes Aqua’s side-story and the first taste of the battle interface we’ll be using in KH3, comes out? Every time I’ve seen one of the two updated collections pop up, 1.5 and 2.5 Remix, I also get to see a delay to one of the new projects. Fortunately in the same announcement period, we got new footage and screenshots, which I’ll now happily share;

kh3-1-720x405

Copyright by Disney & Square-Enix

.. Here..

kh3-2-720x405

Copyright Disney & Square-Enix

… and Here…

.. But, I just have this foreboding feeling that the effort thrown at bringing the collections to the current generation will have a profanely negative effect on bringing the installments we actually care about coming out, namely by delaying the projects AGAIN.

My second problem is within the last generation of consoles, seeing as the franchise already cleaned up and was moved to the PS3, who yet has not played these games that isn’t a Disney or old-school Squaresoft fan? While I can name a few from my groups of associates, there aren’t many. Even non-gamers have tapped into the magic that is this mash-up of stories and characters, some of which own the PS2 because of the Kingdom Hearts franchise. One of the only reasons I can see myself owning a PS4 copy of the collections is so that I can share with those whom refuse to play older system’s games, or for those whom sold their PS3’s for the PS4, as is frequently the case. Yeah, I can go kill Sephiroth again in one of my favorite battles in the original Kingdom Hearts, but how many more times till it becomes completely bland in my mind?

Look Square-Enix and Disney, I love you guys, I’ve adored you since I was first introduced to you both as a kid. All of your fans share that. So, for that same heart-felt and monetary affection, can you just get on with it and produce the next chapter already? These Olympus screens look amazing, but you know where they’d be even better? On several discs, in our game consoles, preferably before we’re dead.

– From a Concerned Fan

One thought on “A Brief Look at Square-Enix’s Decision to Re-Release Kingdom Hearts onto the PS4

Leave a Reply

